Depo-Provera Shot Side Effects, Schedule & More



Depo-ProveraReviews

people have reviewed this drug
2.5 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
1 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (10/6/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

Absoluteeeeely awful. Don't know how it's legal. Only just starting to feel normal again after this shot sent me round the bend feeling like I was going crazy, panic attacks, depressed to the point of feeling suicidal. Hot flushes, fatigue, body aches, headaches !! Don't do it. Seriously. Birth control is just toxic NEVER again would I take any form of birth control after this experience. So glad I am actually returning to my old self! They don't warn you what the potential side effects are and that they can take months and months to leave your system

Report
1 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (10/4/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

This was my first form of birth control, I was 16 when I first got the depo shot and it only lasted about 6 months. I had many negative side effects while on depo including depression (to the point where I became suicidal), I became moody and felt irritated 24/7 and just wanted to cry all the time, I was spotting for the first 2 months and my periods became very irregular, my acne started to get even worse, and my sex drive decreased. I experienced pretty much all of the negative side effects from the depo shot, but I guess on the bright side I didn’t get pregnant. I am now 20 and once I switched to the pill all of the side effects went away and I started to become myself again. This birth control was hell for me and I would never get back on it.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (9/25/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

I got my first depo shot 3 months ago. I’m debating on whether or not I want to continue getting the shot. One month after getting my first shot, I started my period and I had severe cramps. It went away thankfully, but I’ve been spotting here and there and it’s honestly annoying. My sex drive is eh’ I haven’t been enjoying sex like I did before I got the shot and that is pretty annoying. I’m dry and I’ve read that the depo shot can chase dryness of the vagina walls? So I guess that’s the problem. But other than that, I’m not pregnant. Very light periods and spotting here and there. Sex drive isn’t too high. I’ve found myself being more stressed out and waking up feeling depressed like. Very low feeling and I end up crying when I feel this way. So I’m not really sure on whether or not I want to get my next shot which is pretty soon. I’m also concerned about getting pregnant in the future. I’ve read girls experiences on the struggle of trying to get pregnant after the shot and I’m afraid if I continue with the shot, I’m gonna mess my insides completely up to the point I won’t be able to have any...

Report
5 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (9/18/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

I’ve been on Depo for the past 6 years and love it. Its extremely effective and not having a period is such a luxury. Regardless of how unhealthy it may be, these 6 years of not having cramps, back aches, headaches and feeling just not so fresh has made me never want a period again. I plan to stay on it for as long as the doctors will let me. They’ve made me get two bone density scans which both came back normal. The only down side is having to go to the office to get the shot, and if you don’t like getting shots that too. I hate shots but this one is quick and generally painless. Just depends on who gives it to you.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (9/17/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

first month was awesome! then i started to bleed really bad my dr said it was fine just a side effect. year later im off the shot but am still bleeding. I've been bleeding over a year now, hurts to pee, hurts during intercourse, terrible migraines that last for weeks, breast are sore and it made my eye vision worse! 18302/10 would not recommend. If anyone has had these same symptoms can you tell me how to fix this?

Report
1 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (9/16/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

I took my first shot of Depo on 26 June 2019 for birth control. I have been bleeding non stop since the day I took this shot with not break. I would advice anyone not to take this. No one has answers to why you bleed for such a long time except to repeat text book phrase from the makers of the drug. Here it is now going on the 12th week of not taking the medication and I really hope that it is completely out of my system. I will never ever take Depo ever again. There is no sex life and I have been so depressed and it is ruining my sex life.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (9/9/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

I just got my second shot of the depo 2 days ago and last night I woke up bawling because I was stuck. I got the shot in my left arm and during the night, my arm neck and shoulder got so stiff I couldn't move at all. My husband had to come move me. Having 2 infants it is quite an inconvenience.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 2 months ago (9/7/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

PLEASE PLEASE do NOT take. I have been doing so much research on this evil drug after not being told anything from my doctor. I received two shots in December 2019. Since then I have no regular cycle and just had an ectopic pregnancy. Coming to find out this shot is referred to as the poor person poison!!!!! I am going to continue to what I can to get this drug off the market. It was denied by the fda three times before finally approving it. do not take!!!

Report
3 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (9/4/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

I wouldn't recommend this I am currently on this and about to get off of it because it caused me to have vagina discharged and still wouldn't go away. I thought that I caught it from my sexual partner. But it turns out I got it from here. And this would be over after two injections.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (8/24/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

I know a lot of people have had negative reviews with depo. It honestly depends on the person. I have been on depo for over a year, and overall have been pleased. I did experience some severe bleeding towards the end of my first year, but I received my shots earlier and it cleared up. My period completely stopped after 2 shots. I stopped depo for 2 months due to studying abroad and not having access to a shot update. I was on the pill for those two months and I hated it. So I went back on depo about a month ago. This time around I am having cramping and lower back pain, but I did stop taking it routinely so my body will have to adjust again. I haven’t gained any weight...I’ve actually lost weight. This is either a hit or miss method honestly. I chose this method because I was terrible at remembering pills and it’s super effective.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (8/23/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor ContraceptionReport

Do NOT take this evil drug! I took one shot almost a year ago and I am still messed up from it! For several months, I had no period. However, I had already been diagnosed with depression and this medication caused me to spiral into a crippling state in which I would barely get up out of bed. After not getting my period for months, I will now bleed heavily for 5-10 days, then stop, then start again for another 5-10 days. It is completely unpredictable and I am just starting to come out of the depression. It will mess you up! Stay away from this option!

Report
1 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (8/19/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Premenstrual SyndromeReport

I had this shot about 6 weeks ago. I went on the shot as I wanted to treat PMDD and apparently this was the only drug available to me because of the mental healtg isssues I have, the doctor suggested tgus was the only that may be able to help with the PMDD. She said there were 2 different ways I could take it and I said its probably best I try the tablets first however she convinced me to take the shot. I have had PMDD symptoms EVERYDAY since having fhe shot. I cry for no reason and am contstantly breaking down. My antidepressants are obselete and now I am on calmatives (that are really bad for you) just to keep the panic attacks and and OCD symptoms at bay. Ive evn had to go to a day clinic because of the state of my mental health. I went back to tell the doctor what had happened and she said AND I quote "you wanted it and you came to see me about it" "I said that maybe it was a good idea sge told me the side affects with depression as she knew what I had. "She said I am not legally oblidged to tell you as there is only a small percentage of woman that react the way you have" AND "then she says....I would be here for 5 years telling you all the side affects". I was gob smacked!! I

Report
1 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (8/14/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

I have been on the depo shot for a little over a year now. I used to be on the pill, but wasn't the best at taking it. Well, I failed to read reviews before getting the shot. I noticed side effects after the first dose but just thought my body needed time to get used to it. Wrong. My body hasn't gotten used to it, it's gotten worse. Although I haven't experienced weight gain, I surely have noticed worse side effects. My periods never went away, which is fine.. but what isn't fine is them lasting over 1-2 weeks. Currently over 3 at the moment. They are so sporadic and after my period I get some sort of sticky blood for a week. They fluctuate between light and heavy the entire time, so choosing what tampon/pad to wear was a nightmare. I have been experiencing AWFUL mood swings and slight depression and anxiety. I lash out at the smallest things, and it's honestly effecting my relationship. I would rather have a 5 day period with the pill every month than go through this torture any longer. Every women is different, but with the reviews I've been reading they're just about the same. Don't get the shot.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (8/13/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

At first it was a great birth control for me. I always have AWFUL cramps, and I didn’t have a period at all on Depo. But when I came to the end of my three months on the shot, I had a 3 week long period! It wasn’t heavy bleeding, but it was painful. Now, I have began my Apri 28 day pill again, and I began the sugar pill on this past Sunday. My period didn’t start until that next Saturday, and is more heavy and painful than any period I had before birth control. It is awful, and I suggest not using it if you intend to quit it if you don’t like it. I tried it, didn’t like it, and now I’m in severe pain from the cramps and heavy period as a result of stopping the injections after only 3 months.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (8/8/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

It’s been two months since I received my first shot and I am literally counting down the days until this leaves my system. I’m an active person and eat healthy and I am literally always fatigued to the point I have to lay down or take a nap by noon. I’m depressed and have terrible mood swings. It seems to be the worst at night which I would like to understand why. It’s severely affecting my relationship with my boyfriend because I just can not shake my sadness and snap over the littlest things. Please ladies, do your research before jumping into this contraceptive. I wish I did. But after a pregnancy scare I was so quick to get on one that I didn’t realize the deterimental effects.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 3 months ago (8/8/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

I started using the injection as I'm quite forgetful with my pill. However it was horrific, yes I didn't get periods. But my acne went from moderate to cystic, covering my entire back, creating boils on my face and constant blackheads regardless of what I did. I also managed to put on two stone in weight, which people had warned be about. However I thought it would just be an increase in appetite which it wasn't, no matter what I did (gym / ate healthy / walked everywhere) I was piling it on. I've now got stretch marks everywhere and I've gone from being a healthy / nearly underweight BMI to overweight? in a matter of months. I also became extremely depressed in the first month of being on it, often crying and feeling really anxious for no reason (which isn't like me) Girls, I'd completely avoid taking this. Yes no periods are nice, but it's honestly not worth it.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 4 months ago (8/5/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

What I liked about this medication is that my period pretty much disappeared, no cramping, and not preggo lol. But it was not worth it for me emotionally. I'm normally a pretty chill person but during depo I experience some really bad mood swings and anger outburst. Especially towards my boyfriend, he took the heat of it all. I would be pissed off over little things and was not able to let go. Went from 0 to 100 real quick. Sometimes wasn't sure what I was so angry about but couldn't let it go. Thank god he understands lol

Report
5 Stars
Posted 4 months ago (8/3/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor ContraceptionReport

After having my second child, I figured this would be a good choice of birth control. I have not seen my period in almost a year, which is great since my periods were very bad to begin with. My sex drive has heightened a lot, when it was very low ! When taking this shot, my hunger increases on a 10 scale, causing me to eat more than usual which has caused some weight gain. I have always been very thin, Starting out at 94 lbs before having my first child and 106 lbs before having my second. With this shot I am able to gain at 5 lbs. Being 121.8 recently off of the shot and 126.4 while on, so it fluctuates. I do not expect to exceed this weight gain since my metabolism is active and I walk everrrryday. With all of the low ratings of this shot, our bodies are all different. I thought that the side effects would occur and worsen, however, there are not any that I am complaining about atm. I am grateful for this birth control and would ditch the pills any day !!

Report
3 Stars
Posted 4 months ago (7/25/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

I’ve been taking it for 3 years now and I’m an Junior in High School, and I’ve been getting really bad migraines and really bad dizziness with it. The drug is fine with my weight because I haven’t gained much weight. I would recommend this drug but there’s other problems with it.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 4 months ago (7/20/2018)

RatedDepo-Proverafor Birth ControlReport

It destroyed my body. So then I went to the doctors, and since they are either ignorant or trying to cover themselves, they said I was just “anxious” whatever that means. Judging by these comments I see I’m not crazy. The side effects are very real. Acne, fatigue, anxiety, depression, and even fibromyalgia-like symptoms...

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Pregnancy Tips : Get Pregnant After Depo-Provera

Depo-Provera Reviews
Depo-Provera Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Depo-Provera Reviews pictures

Depo-Provera Reviews forecasting
Depo-Provera Reviews recommend photo

Depo-Provera Reviews pics
Depo-Provera Reviews photo

Depo-Provera Reviews Depo-Provera Reviews new foto
Depo-Provera Reviews new picture

images Depo-Provera Reviews
foto Depo-Provera Reviews

Watch Depo-Provera Reviews video
Watch Depo-Provera Reviews video

Forum on this topic: Depo-Provera Reviews, depo-provera-reviews/
Forum on this topic: Depo-Provera Reviews, depo-provera-reviews/ , depo-provera-reviews/

Related News


How to Start Your Own Country
The 7 Best Perfumes for Teens to Buy in 2019
Here Are The Ideas Of Wearing Curly Hair Men Can’t Resist
The Best Toys Inspired By Your Kids Favorite Summer Movies and TV Shows
FDA approves Annovera, a new birth control ring that lasts for a year
36 Stylish Fade Haircuts For Men
Ojon Wants to Keep Your Summer HairHealthy
Under The Skin: Why Scarlett Johansson’s New Indie Flick Is Unlike Anything Else You’ll Watch This Year
Gasp: Jane Birkin Wants Her Name Removed From the Iconic Birkin Bag
24 Thoughts We’ve ALL Had on the Treadmill
How to Become a Nurse in Colorado



Date: 06.12.2018, 12:09 / Views: 31335