Amitriptyline



AmitriptylineReviews

people have reviewed this drug
4 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
5 Stars
Posted 7 months ago (4/20/2018)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for InsomniaReport

My son has struggled many months with anxiety insomnia low heart rate nerve and muscle pain and monoclonic jerks while awake. Nothing natural prescribed or over the counter worked. He's seeing several specialist and was diagnosed with dysautonomia. He took 25 mg and is asleep! No anxiety and no complaint of pain or jerking body movements. Fell asleep easily. Prayed for this break through. I hope it continues and all of you searching reviews decide to try this. Good luck to you all!

Report
5 Stars
Posted 7 months ago (4/12/2018)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for PainReport

I have severe Rheumatoid Arthritis, l currently have infusions of Retuxamab every six months and although it helps greatly with most of the pain in my joints, it doesn’t seem to help my neck pain, so l am waking up constantly during the night but since taking Amitriptyline, l sleep soundly.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 8 months ago (4/6/2018)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for Panic DisorderReport

Started taking this drug after being diagnosed with Globus Sensation, an anxiety/stress disorder that makes you feel like your being choked or have something lodged in your throat. After three months solid of no relief, I finally got rid of these symptoms the first day of taking amitriptyline.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 8 months ago (3/30/2018)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for DepressionReport

I was put on this medication for both anxiety/depression & migraines. I've been taking it for about 2 months & don't see much difference in my headaches, but definitely helps with anxiety/depression for me. I have tried Prozac, Celexa, Zoloft & Effexor for my mental disorders before but this by far is the only one that did a thing. It's worth a shot!

Report
1 Stars
Posted 8 months ago (3/24/2018)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for FibromyalgiaReport

I have used 5mg the last 2 nights. I slept very well but was very tired the next day. Did not function as usual. I see tje high doses people are on and are amazed they can function the next day. The pain is still there .

Report
1 Stars
Posted 8 months ago (3/10/2018)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for PainReport

I hated this medication. This was my 2nd try at a pain reliever for headaches. I experienced horrible effects the next day, like I had the flu and took a pack of Benadryl. Took me 3 days to get over it.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 10 months ago (2/3/2018)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for PainReport

Life was becoming unbearable but now It’s more manageable works well for me. I take 10mg however may need too increase unfortunately your body does get used to it

Report
5 Stars
Posted 10 months ago (1/22/2018)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for DepressionReport

Medication changed my life, I was extremely irritable and snappy with my family. I felt like I wanted to rip peoples heads off. I’ve taking Wellbutrin before I be taken Prozac , and I had way too many side effects with those I’ve been on this for three weeks now and have no side effects and have much more patience with my family.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 11 months ago (12/28/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for InsomniaReport

After a concussion from whiplash i was suffering from head aches, muscle pain, insomnia, and anxiety. The doctor prescribed 10mg and said take up to three (i have a low tolerance for medication) this treated all my symptoms along with my depression that's always been present. These don't really make me sleepy at all, just makes it so i fall asleep when it's time.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 14 months ago (9/24/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for Neuropathic PainReport

I was prescribed amitriptyline in addition to my normal dose of narcotics for Neuropathic pain and pain caused by a broken neck and back and to cause drowsiness so I can sleep. As far as pain relief or control, totally ineffective. Drowsiness? Yes it caused it for approximately the first 3 times I took it, then nothing I also have AFib and congestive heart failure and amitriptyline messed with my rhythm. I'm in no way saying this drug is ineffective for anyone other than myself. Your results will be different. I take a lot of medications and have a LOT of pain.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 15 months ago (8/10/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for InsomniaReport

I have severe insomnia that has not responded to any of the "traditional" sleep medications or over the counter medicines. I did have a sleep study and found out I suffered from sleep apnea, so I do now wear a C-pap, but still I suffered from insomnia, or interrupted sleep once I finally did fall asleep. I have tried all the sleep meds, epsom salt baths, 400 mg of magnesium, on and on. Doctor prescribed this drug (generic Elavil) at 25mg to be taken at night. I still don't fall right asleep, sometimes I don't fall asleep for 2 or 3 hours after taking it, but it does KEEP me asleep for a good 7 or 8 hours. I've been on it for about 2 weeks with no side effects.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 16 months ago (8/3/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for Post Traumatic Stress DisorderReport

I've only been taking Amitriptyline for a month. I was not told about many of the side effects, though I was assured it would help me sleep. It did, and I have very vivid dreams - I've not had nightmares. However, I've gained 15 pounds. I experience either severe nausea or hunger...and hunger cause me to be nauseated, so I eat to settle my stomach. I count my calories, and rarely go above 1800, but my body is hanging on to them pretty fiercely. I've found lots of people with similar experiences via message boards. I'm not sure how to fix this, aside from going off the drug completely. I had to reduce my dose from 50mg to 25mg because I felt really dopey all day (despite taking Provigil, as well), and I need to be sharp for my job. The drug wasn't helping very much with my OCD, anyway. I'm continuing on 25mg, with the addition of Risperdal. I feel that there are people this medication can help - frankly, anorexics may be the best beneficiaries. However, I'm not very happy with it, and am only staying on it to help me sleep, at this point.

Report
0 Stars
Posted 16 months ago (7/21/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for PainReport

I have had restless legs for years and thought there was no help for it untill as a last resort I went to Dr's and they prescribed me Amitriptyline . I am on just 10mg a night and wow does it work I had to take it for two weeks before it worked but I have never looked back and that was seven years ago . It has changed my life no more kicking my husband though the night and not sleeping , I can even sit still something I haven't been able to do for years I can't recommend it enough for anyone that suffers with restless legs . I've read reports that say not to take if you have this condition but I want people to know who suffer with this just try it it changed my life and wouldn't be without .

Report
2 Stars
Posted 18 months ago (5/26/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for Neuropathic PainReport

I took my first dose at bedtime as prescribed. I did not get one minute of rest. My extremities, mostly my legs, just jerked and spasamed starting about forty-five minutes after taking the medication. This side effect, I'm assuming, lasted close to twelve hours. That is one of several effects I had, others include uncontrollable shivering (no fever) and overly aware, anxious. Having all this going on I also felt dizzy, staggered, very sleepy but could not fall asleep. This was perscribed for abdominal pain due to a cut nerve during a recent surgery. It may work wonders for some however it just isn't one for me.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 19 months ago (4/28/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for DepressionReport

Been taking 150mgs a night since the late 90s and can only say positive things about it. I don't understand the low doses I'm seeing that people take and it not helping in the reviews. Yeah, 30mg or 50mg probably wouldn't help me either. I was on Prozac until I did a chemo type treatment for Hep C (HCV) in 1998 and developed insomnia and restless leg syndrome. At that time Amitriptyline was prescribed since it promotes stage 4 sleep and is an antidepressant. I believe I started with 100mg a night and after a month it was increased to 150mg. I've never had another problem with depression, insomnia or restless legs. Didn't experience any side effects from Ami like I did with Prozac. As I said, I can only say positive things about Amitriptyline. I'm just confused that the reviews I read are such low doses.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 20 months ago (4/1/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for FibromyalgiaReport

Have been taking for a year for Fibromyalgia and Lupus pain was precribed 10 mg three times a day. I changed myself to 30 mg at night I'm at least sleeping better than I have ever. I will except any help with pain and sleep.I can't take narcotics best I can do for now.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 21 months ago (2/26/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for DepressionReport

Was given this Medicine to help with insomnia & also depression anxiety & stress. It did nothing for any of the above. I was prescribed 50 mgs at bedtime. I have a very high tolerance for medications. Dr wanted to find something to wein Me off of 10mgs of ambien for sleeping. This pill did nothing. Also did not make Me feel more energetic. And with the weight gain did nothing to help Me with My depression. Gaining weight makes a female feel worse. I'm age 63 & 5'3" 1801bs so gaining more weight was horrible.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 21 months ago (2/26/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for InsomniaReport

I had a real bad sleep disorder and when I did sleep I would grind my teeth to chalk,,was like that since my teens and every doc that I seen excused it (my teeth) as if I was a drug addict even tho I wasn't.. this happened so often that I gave up asking for help, then one night I woke up and my face looked like a foot ball, jaws were so sore I could barely open my mouth so I went to the emergency,, as luck would have it there was a doc helping out there that night,, when he seen me he also listened to me and that resulted in elavil being prescribed at 25 mg ,, I couldn't believe the results,, amazing ! For once I slept proper and didnt have sore jaws and teeth were not sore at all ,, my mood was so much better ,,I haven't had any tooth pain ever since and I sleep like a baby,, my disease was raised after a month to 50mg and I still take it ,, it's been 3 and a half years iv been taking amitriptyline and life's back on track,, yes there was some weight gain but I'm also happy with that as I was not eating or sleeping or at the rite weight,,exercise helps a lot with that iv noticed,, I still praise that doctor as I almost feal it was life saving for me..thank you with all my heart dr

Report
2 Stars
Posted 21 months ago (2/20/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for Migraine ProphylaxisReport

I wasn't prescribed 10mg of amitriptyline for migraines and to help me sleep. This drug is great for helping you sleep. I was drowsy within 10 mins of taking it at night before bed. However, as a migraine prophylactic it did not help. I had migraines occurring frequently and often worse than they were prior to starting this medication. I also gained 18 lbs in 4 months. My breasts became very swollen and tender and I ended up extremely depressed. My dosage was the lowest you can get. I cannot even imagine taking more than I did and the side effects it would have had. I don't recommend this to anyone.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 22 months ago (1/22/2017)

RatedAmitriptyline (Elavil)for DepressionReport

this is very effective for depression and anxiety much better that any SSRI, works in 7 days , take at night as you will sleep well . start low 5 mg for 3 days then get to 10mg and so on my dosage 25 mg for some 10mg works and some go to 200mg so find your dosage.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Amitriptyline | What you should know

Amitriptyline Reviews
Amitriptyline Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Amitriptyline Reviews pictures

Amitriptyline Reviews advise
Amitriptyline Reviews forecast photo

Amitriptyline Reviews images
Amitriptyline Reviews pictures

Amitriptyline Reviews Amitriptyline Reviews new picture
Amitriptyline Reviews new picture

pics Amitriptyline Reviews
photo Amitriptyline Reviews

Watch Amitriptyline Reviews video
Watch Amitriptyline Reviews video

Discussion on this topic: Amitriptyline Reviews, amitriptyline-reviews/
Communication on this topic: Amitriptyline Reviews, amitriptyline-reviews/ , amitriptyline-reviews/

Related News


Nylon Media president spent months asking employees the same questions
What You Need to Master the Updated Cat Eye
How to Love and Accept Yourself
Colon Cancer: What Do the Stages Mean
How to Import Freely Licensed Images Into wikiHow
Owners of destroyed Fixer Upper home feel deceived by Gaines duo
4 Reasons You Should Do More HIIT
Stuff We Love: A Prince-Charles Worthy Kitchen (That You Can ActuallyAfford)
Are You a Tech Sinner How to Reduce Tech Waste
Will Smith Shares the Most Poisonous Aspect of His Relationship With Jada Pinkett Smith
How to Work Abroad



Date: 05.12.2018, 18:09 / Views: 45291